Jul 23, 2024  
2022-2023 College Catalog 
2022-2023 College Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Louisiana’s Technical College System began with the establishment of local trade school campuses in Bogalusa and Shreveport in 1930 and 1936, respectively. In 1938, the passage of Louisiana Legislative Act 14 provided funding for five additional trade schools, including one in Crowley (Acadian Campus) and one in Opelousas (T. H. Harris Campus). Expansion of the trade school system resumed in the 1950’s with the construction of 17 additional schools between 1950 and 1957 including the New Iberia (Teche Campus). From 1974 through 1987, 22 additional campuses were established statewide, including SLCC’s present-day Ardoin Campus in Lafayette, Charles B. Coreil Campus in Ville Platte, Evangeline Campus in St. Martinville, and Gulf Area Campus in Abbeville.

While the seven technical schools that are now a part of SLCC were well established by 1997, each with their own unique history, South Louisiana Community College (SLCC) was created by Act 1369 of the 1997 Louisiana regular legislative session. The College was established as a comprehensive, multi-campus public two-year institution of  higher education and was designated to serve the Acadiana region comprised of the eight civil parishes of Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion.

In February 2012, leadership Bill 284 was introduced in the 2012 Louisiana Legislative Session authorizing for the merger of the two institutions into a new institution to be named South Louisiana Community College.

Today, SLCC offers a variety of degree programs including Associate degree programs, Technical Diploma programs, and programs terminating in a Certificate of Technical Studies. Students in the Associate and Technical programs are also able to earn Certificates at specified exit points prior to the completion of those programs.